Surrounding area


The Xareta district, an area covering just a few square kilometres, has always been a cross-border living area around the villages of Urdazubi-Urdax, Zugarramurdi, Ainhoa and Sare. The area is ideally located because it is at the foot of the mountains and just a short drive to the coast.

Far from being just simply a group of municipalities, Xareta has a strong cultural identity, thanks to the links which exist between its inhabitants and which go beyond the border. 


Terre et Côte Basques

The Terre & Côte Basques area, brings together 12 municipalities from the Spanish border as far as Biarritz.

There are 2 distinct atmospheres: the coast with its beaches and nautical activities, and inland, with calm, green surroundings, mountains and great sites. 


The Basque Country

The Basque Country, or Euskal Herria in Basque, straddles the Pyrenees and covers several administrative areas in both France and Spain, with just over 20 500 km2 and a population of approximately 3 million inhabitants.

It consists of 7 provinces, 3 in the north and 4 in the south, with their capitals:

  • Labourd : Bayonne
  • Basse Navarre : St Jean Pied de Port
  • Soule : Mauléon
  • Navarre : Pampelune
  • Alava : Vitoria/Gazteiz
  • Gipuzkoa : San Sebastian
  • Biscaye : Bilbao
Cliquer pour agrandir